The Cello is not just a giant violin

The Cello is not just a giant violinMy niece and I were watching the movie Titanic one day in our home in Melbourne and we were up to the point where the boat was sinking but the musicians kept on playing. She asked me what was the musical instrument one of them was playing. I told her it was the Cello. She called it a giant violin. Which is a good description I guess. I am not really familiar with that kind of string instrument so it got me curious, so I looked it up.

 
 

The cello apparently is a member of the violin family. It makes a lower deeper sound compared to the smaller violin. It is a big instrument maybe that is why it can produce a deeper sound compared to the other instruments. It is not really commonly used in the type of music I listen to but since looking it up I did get an appreciation to the sound it can produce. It sounds deeper and more emotional to me compared to the sound a violin makes, I do not know why but listening to it places me in a state of relaxation. I read that they usually use the cello in orchestral performances and sometimes in pop songs too. If you would listen closely to Christina Aguilera’s song Beautiful, it is there.

 
 

Apparently, the cello is a great instrument to use when you want to convey deep emotions. If you are a musician who likes to compose ballads it would be a nice angle to explore. There are a lot of cellist here in Melbourne.

 
 
 
 

https://www.starsandcatz.com.au/lessons/cello-teacher-melbourne-vic.html

Leave a comment